Friday, November 27, 2009

Monday, November 23, 2009

DOOM sends out an imposter to Los Angeles show

According to multiple reports, the Dumile was a no-show this past Saturday at his live show. One person in attendance said, "a fake MF DOOM appeared briefly then walked off". Then, apparently, "an audience member hops on the mic and demands for money back", only to catch a fist to the face from "some random lame lyricist 'Special Guest'.

Word is that the 'DOOMPOSTER' never touched the mic. at all, and new tracks were simply spun on a laptop.

In an e-mail sent by Consequence of Sound to Stones Throw, the label said, it was “obvious that he wasn’t going to show up at a venue that fits only 200 people when his performance fee requires venues about 10 times that size.” That said, they would neither confirm nor deny if it was indeed an imposter.

DOOM currently has live show lined up at the end of January with Mos; should be interesting to see if he shows.

[Here's a video from Saturday]

- Subroc, The Hip Hop Hendrix

Friday, November 6, 2009

'GAZZILLION EAR' EP releasing December 8

After 'Unexpected Guests' drops this upcoming Tuesday, we'll be receiving one more DOOM release before 2010 gets started. Lex Records has officially announced the release of a 12-track 'GAZZILLION EAR' EP. The EP will include to original "GAZZILLION EAR", produced by J Dilla, and remixes from Thom Yorke (Radiohead), Dr Who Dat? and Dave Sitek (TV on the Radio), as well as the instrumentals to go along with each... and a few bonus tracks to finish things off.

The EP will release digitally & on wax December 8.

Official tracklisting:

01 Gazzillion Ear
02 Gazzillion Ear (Thom Yorke Remix)
03 Gazzillion Ear (Dr Who Dat? Remix)
04 Gazzillion Ear (Jneiro Jarel/SITEK Remix)
05 Gazzillion Ear (Acappella)
06 Gazzillion Ear (Instrumental)
07 Gazzillion Ear (Thom Yorke Remix) (Instrumental)
08 Gazzillion Ear (Dr Who Dat? Remix) (Instrumental)
09 Gazzillion Ear (Jneiro Jarel/SITEK Remix) (Instrumental)
10 Green Whore Net (bonus beat)
11 Feta (scratch samples)
12 Kat Girl (bonus)

- Subroc, The Hip Hop Hendrix

Tuesday, November 3, 2009

Album Review: 'Unexpected Guests'

With the hard copy release being a week away, I figured I'd post my impressions of DOOM's 'Unexpected Guests' album.

Upon initially reading the official press release & track list a couple months back, I wasn't overly excited for this compilation. Actually, the first thing that popped into my mind was "cash grab". The retail version of the album leaked at the beginning of last week, and I've been listening to it pretty steadily since then.

I can't front... I'm really feelin' this release. The track selection is pretty impressive when you're listening to the album, and has a ton of joints that you've probably forgotten about or haven't heard that bang. Tracks like "Fly That Knot", "Sorcerers", "Quite Buttery" & "Project Jazz"; some dope DOOM shit that is mostly forgotten.

Another refreshing track on the album is the original version of "Angels" from 2006. I'm not sure about any of you, but I'd become accustomed to the version on 'BORN LIKE THIS.' since it was released. I still prefer the OG, sounds so much smoother than the BLT version.

The album also features a handful of recently release DOOM collabos since the villain made his return last year. "Sniper Elite", "Fire Wood Drumstykx", "The Unexpected" & "Black Gold", which I'm sure everybody on here has recently listened to, and would say are good selections to include on a DOOM collabo compilation.

The mixing may be what impressed me the most. Track to track transitions are flawless... I probably shouldn't have been expecting anything less, though. I can't stand when mix albums are mixed shitty; makes them unlistenable.

The only real whack shit on the album is the live version of "I Hear Voices". The press release said it was an unheard live version of "I Hear Voices"; it's taken from the 'Live from Planet X' recording. But here's where it gets really whack: even though it's the version from 'Live from Planet X', they decided to lift the track from that "DOOMED" mixtape released in '08... and with about 10 seconds remaining in the track you hear a DJ Drop "ill roots dot com". How's that shit happen?

Overall, I really like this release, even though I'd been planning on skipping it. The only disappointment was at the end of the album, which I wrote about above. I'll be copping a hard copy when it's released next week, and the digital version was released on iTunes today (link on the right side), which includes a tracked version as well as a single track 49 minute mix version.

Official Website: DOOM - Unexpected Guests

- Subroc, The Hip Hop Hendrix