Wednesday, May 6, 2009

Kurios' new album "II" pushed back to June 30

Amalgam Digital has once again pushed back Kurious' new release "II". The album is now set to release on June 30, here's the official press release:

April 28, 2009 - Golden age fans of hip-hop will remember full page split advertisements in The Source Magazine for what was at the time two of Columbia's most promising hip-hop artists' debut albums. One half of the advertisement was Nas "Illmatic" and the other was for Kurious Jorge "A Constipated Monkey". Well now, everyone's favorite "Constipated Monkey" is back with a brand new album for 2009! Kurious Jorge and Amalgam Digital are proud to present "II", Kurious' first studio album in over 14 years, which will be released on June 30, 2009.

Hailing from 'Uptown' New York, Kurious is best known for his early-to-mid 1990's hits such as "Walk Like A Duck", "Uptown Sh*t", "I'm Kurious" and "A Mansion & A Yacht". His debut album, "A Constipated Monkey", was released in 1994 to critical acclaim. His association with Bobbito, Pete Nice (3rd Bass) and MF Doom (KMD) further cemented his folklore in underground circles worldwide

After a lengthy hiatus, Kurious signed to the Amalgam Digital label in 2007. Amalgam re-released the classic "A Constipated Monkey" album later that year which included never-heard-before bonus demo tracks from the early 90s. Kurious' new offering "II" features guest appearances from the likes of another Amalgam Digital signed artist, Max B, and reunites both MC Serch with Mf Doom for "Benneton" as well as regrouping with original posse members The Beatnuts who return a favor to the man who laced their chorus with the vocals "When I pop the trunk…hit the deck".

Stellar production is handled by heavywights in the beat game: Dame Grease, 88-Keys, Hi-Tek, V.I.C., Domingo and Yogi. Songs such as "Animals & Horses", "Work It", and "From Up Under" prove that Kurious' lyrical skills and wit are still sharp as ever while the classic "Sittin' In My Car" pays homage to the original version by Slick Rick and Doug E. Fresh.

The album "II" will be available on CD and digital format on June 30th 2009 with an additional bonus song when purchased on
Kurious "II" (Amalgam Digital) Tracklisting
01. Intro
02. Take What Is Given
03. Back With VIC
04. Work It
05. Sittin' In My Car
06. Drinks In The Air featuring: Vanessa Liftwig
07. Animals and Horses featuring Kadi Amin
08. Benetton featuring: MC Serch, MF Doom
09. Rain On Me featuring: Co Campbell
10. Wake Up featuring: Vanessa Liftwig
11. Smiling
12. Brand New Day featuring: Dave Dar (Bamboo Brothers)
13. Mysterious featuring: Rell
14. New Heights
15. Back From Up Under featuring Max B
16. Is This the End
17. Prosperous featuring Co Campbell
18. BONUS: The Magician featuring Del The Funky Homosaphien

Check out the lead single video "Back From Up Under" ft. Max B Here:

Also check out the promo video of Kurious & The Beatnuts here:

Business #: 617.561.0924

Phone:(877) 469.2352 – Fax:(877) 469.2352 –

- Subroc, The Hip Hop Hendrix